Beneath the Ashes

Beneath the Ashes

'I thought I d never read a book that came close to the realities of crime and policing. Then I read this.' Ian Patrick Writer and former DS with the Metropolitan Police

'A smart, intelligent and tightly woven police procedural with real depth of human emotion at its heart.' Rebecca Bradley, Author of Shallow Waters

An intense and gripping narrative style, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S. J. Watson, Holly Seddon and Sophie Hannah

The floor felt hard beneath her face. Nancy opened her eyes. Blinked several times. A pain seared through her head. She could feel fluid. No. She was lying in fluid.

When a body is discovered in a burnt-out barn in the Warwickshire countryside, DI Will Jackman is called to investigate.

Nancy Faraday wakes up on the kitchen floor. The house has been broken into and her boyfriend is missing. As the case unravels, DI Jackman realises that nothing is quite as it appears and everyone, it seems, has a secret.

Can he discover the truth behind the body in the fire, and track down the killer before Nancy becomes the next victim?

Title:Beneath the Ashes
Edition Language:English
ISBN:null
Format Type:

    Beneath the Ashes Reviews

  • Frances

    Beneath the Ashes is a well developed police procedural set in the Warwickshire countryside. DI Will Jackman is called to investigate the discovery of charred remains belonging to an adult male found ...

  • Mary Beth

    This is the second book of the Detective Inspector Will Jackman Series, I have read reviews that this book could be read as a stand alone. I agree that it can. The author does character development ...

  • Sue

    BENEATH THE ASHES is the third Legend Press novel from Jane Isaac, and the second in the DI Will Jackman series. In 2015 Jane embarked on a new series, featuring DI Will Jackman and set in Stratford u...

  • ?ReadAlongWithSue?

    I always wait with bated breath for the next book that this authors brings out. I always think, ah I liked her last one, can she do better?No matter how many ask me "did she do better?" my reply is, ...

  • BookwormDH

    I always get a sense of high anticipation when Jane Isaac delivers a new book and this outing is another welcomed treat.I find Jane's writing very clever and very special. The attention to detail is s...

  • Sandy

    3.5 starsInspector Will Jackman has a lot on is plate. His wife is still in a care facility with locked-in syndrome, he’s due to appear before the promotion board next week & his daughter is coming ...

  • Rachel Hall

    Opening with a haunting prologue as a woman weaves her way amid the graves in a churchyard accompanied by sirens growing closer, Jane Isaac keeps her readers on tenterhooks until the final pages to re...

  • Linda Strong

    This book not only introduces me to DI Will Jackman, but also the the author. Up front, I will say .. I'm eager to read more of them.Although second in the series, this is a very good stand-alone .......

  • Petra

    This is the second DI Will Jackman book, and although I haven't read the first, it didn't pose any problems. I would like to go back and read Before It's Too Late, as Will Jackman was a likable and be...

  • Janet

    Beneath The Ashes is the latest instalment from the pen of Jane Isaac. A police procedural featuring one of my favourite fictional detectives, DI Will Jackman. I really do like this guy! The fact that...